UW-Eau Claire
Hwa Rang Do - Tae Soo Do Club

Contact us: hwarangdo@uwec.edu


Hwa Rang Do Meng Sae

The Hwa Rang Do Meng Sae is the most important part of Hwa Rang Do. At the beginning of the art's traditions 1800 years ago, the sons of the noble class were recruited to become Hwarang warriors. Today, some martial arts have lost integrity and honor, but our founder, Supreme Grandmaster Dr. Joo Bang Lee, emphasizes becoming a true martial artist. Becoming a true martial artist means developing good character.

In his Millenium Message, Dr. Joo Bang Lee said, "Martial art training is not focused on just winning fights, but is focused on building a good character through the vehicle of combat skills." Honor and integrity of character are emphasized through the five rules and nine virtues of the Meng Sae.

Hwa Rang Do O Kae (five rules)

  • Il) Sa Kun E Choong - Loyalty to one's country
  • E) Sa Chin E Hyo - Loyalty to one's parents and teachers
  • Sam) Kyo Woo E Shin - Trust and brotherhood among friends
  • Sa) Im Jeon Moo Tae - Courage never to retreat in the face of the enemy
  • Oh) Sal Saeng Yoo Teak - Justice never to take a life without cause

Hwa Rang Do Kyo Hoon (nine virtues)

  • In - Humanity
  • Oui - Justice
  • Yea - Courtesy
  • Ji - Wisdom
  • Shin - Trust
  • Sun - Goodness
  • Duk - Virtue
  • Choong - Loyalty
  • Yong - Courage

Um-Yang Theory

The Hwa Rang Do logo is a symbol called the Um-Yang. The symbol is a representation of the two forces of nature that are constantly counteracting, and it is the same principle as the Yin-Yang in Chinese philosophy. For every force in the world there is another that balances it out, and without this harmony, the world would be filled with chaos.

The principle of Um-Yang is important to our training in Hwa Rang Do and Tae Soo Do. We study both hard and soft techniques, practice both linear and circular movements, and we push and pull. Um-Yang also has importance as martial artists in our daily lives. It is important to recognize that there is both good and bad in the world, strong and weak, large and small. It is through understanding of the principle of Um-Yang that we can begin to create a larger understanding of our nature as a whole.

Um is broken down into three elements:

  • Yu - the concept of soft, unrelenting motion, like flowing water. Water is soft yet it can erode the strongest of metals.
  • Won - the concept of circular patterns. It shows that all things in life follow a cyclical pattern, starting from one point and finishing at the same point.
  • Hap - the combining or gathering. In order to create something, one must know all of its fundamental parts. Then, one can vary the combinations in order to create functionally different objects.

The three elements of Yang are opposing elements to Um:

  • Kang - the concept of hardness, like rock or steel. Without a strong foundation, there is no stability, form or longevity.
  • Kak - the concept of angles. All things possess specific shape and pattern to create specific results. Knowing angles enhances the understanding of form, movement and positioning to maximize balance and power.
  • Kan - the concept of distancing. One must understanding the proper range of the opponent's and the individual's arms, legs and/or weapon in order to effectively create a defensive perimeter as well as executing proper attacks, striking the target.

Our Martial and Healing Art

Hwa Rang Do's training program, in keeping with Do Joo Nim's warrior philosophy, is divided into two areas of study. Our martial training, which is called Mu Sul, and our healing training, which is called In Sul.

Mu Sul:

Our martial training is divided into four categories of martial skills. They are:

Nae Gong: The study of internal power and a method for developing awareness of your energy body through active meditation practices.

Wae Gong: The externalization of Nae Gong and is expressed through our martial programs. This includes our techniques, hard and soft movements, striking, throws and takedowns, ground fighting, joint manipulations, falling methods, and our non-weapon application programs.

Mugi Gong: The extension of Wae Gong that includes the use of weapons and involves training in techniques with weapons as an extension of your body.

Shin Gong: The division of training that focuses on developing the human mind and cultivating our awareness, concentration, and moral aptitude. Shin Gong also includes training in bone setting, acupuncture, concealment, Asian philosophy, and much more.

In Sul:

Through the study of both the martial and healing skills the Hwa Rang Do® practitioner will have an incredible understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of the human body. This will not only help in a self-defense situation, but will also help the practitioner to understand and appreciate the fragility of human life. Our healing practices are divided into 6 categories:

  • Ji Ap Sul - Acupressure
  • Chim Gu Sul - Acupuncture and Maxabustion
  • Yak Bang Bop - Herbal Medicine
  • Jup Gol Sul - Bone Setting
  • Hwal Bop - Special Aids
  • Ki Ryuk Sul - Ki Power healing

This type of understanding is crucial because it will help lead the practitioner to the further development of their sense of self.

The Principles of Training

It is important to be mindful of how we learn as a student. Hwa Rang Do establishes seven principles of training to help guide students to being the best student they can. They are:

  1. Concentration: Keep an attentive and calm mind.
  2. Patience and endurance: "Rome wasn't built in a day"  Continue to train and you will reach success!
  3. Sincerity in practice:  Work to build the quality of your skill sets and your martial training.
  4. Speed: Be quicker than your opponent. Gain skill in all ranges of speed.
  5. Conservation of energy: Tension consumes energy and is a waste.  Know when to relax and when to act!
  6. Respect and obedience: Be accountable with your own abilities and their potential as well as respecting the knowledge and understanding of your instructors and those who also walk the warrior path.
  7. Humility: Large egos are carried by small minds.